18 ‘Catholic’ Senators Voted to Redefine Marriage – Will Their Bishops Do Anything?

The Senate on Wednesday advanced the “Respect for Marriage Act” in a 62-37 vote, with 12 Republicans joining all Democrats in ending a filibuster and moving the bill forward. Final passage of the bill is expected next week. 

CatholicVote’s Catholic Accountability Project team noted the number of Catholic politicians who supported the bill, including three Catholic Republicans and all 15 Democrats who claim to be Catholic. Those names are below.

AKSen. Dan SullivanRAnchorageBellisario
AKSen. Lisa MurkowskiRAnchorageBellisario
AZSen. Mark KellyDTusconWeisenburger
CASen. Alex PadillaDLos AngelesGomez
ILSen. Dick DurbinDSpringfieldPaprocki
MASen. Ed MarkeyDBostonO'Malley
MESen. Susan CollinsRPortlandDeeley
NJSen. Bob MenendezDNewarkTobin
NMSen. Ben Ray LujanDSanta FeWester
NVSen. Catherine Cortez MastoDLas VegasThomas
NYSen. Kirsten GillibrandDAlbanyScharfenberger
PASen. Bob CaseyDScrantonBambera
RISen. Jack ReedDProvidenceTobin
VASen. Tim KaineDRichmondKnestout
VTSen. Patrick LeahyDBurlingtonCoyne
WASen. Maria CantwellDSeattleEtienne
WASen. Patty MurrayDSeattleEtienne
WVSen. Joe ManchinDWheeling-CharlestonBrennan

Continue reading at Catholic Vote

Voting in favor of redefine marriage is clearly in conflict with the teachings of the Catholic Church. Canon 915 states “Those upon whom the penalty of excommunication or interdict has been imposed or declared, and others who obstinately persist in manifest grave sin, are not to be admitted to Holy Communion.” Catholic Senators who supported this measure cannot be allowed to receive the Eucharist. Doing so would be “objectively sacrilegious” and create “grave scandal.”

TAKE ACTION: Send a message to the bishops of these Senators asking them to invoke Canon 915 excluding these Senators from receiving Holy Communion in their home dioceses.